Archive News

  1. Dr Mukesh Saini was bestowed with Outstanding Reviewer Award for IEEE Transactions on Multimedia (Nov 2021).

  2. Dr Shashi Shekhar Jha has been granted an Indian Patent (Patent no: 377728) from the work carried out during his PhD.

  3. Vidushi Agarwal PhD student of Dr. Sujata Pal received the prestigious SERB-OVDF Fellowship at the University of Alberta to conduct her research at Alberta as part of the PhD program.

  4. Dr. Abhinav Dhall and Vineet Mehta (BTech, 2019)'s intoxication and distraction detection project is declared a winner in NASSCOM experienceAI's lab2market event [LINK]

  5. BTech student Aditya Aggarwal wins the highly competitive Reliance Foundation Scholarship 2021 in the area of Artificial Intelligence & Computer Sciences.

  6. B.Tech 2019 batch student Aayush Sabharwal secured a place in the highly prestigious Google Summer of Code 2021.

  7. Dr Nitin Auluck (in collaboration with PGI) awarded a grant under the National Supercomputing Mission to conduct research on biomedical time series.

  8. Dr Puneet Goyal and his PhD student Mr Vishwas Rathi won the "Best Industrial Paper Award" for their work titled "Convolution Filter based Efficient Multispectral Image Demosaicking for Compact MSFAs" presented at the the VISAPP 2021 conference.

  9. Members of Social Computing and Collective Intelligence Lab, headed by Dr. Sudarshan Iyengar wins the best teaser video award in OpenSym conference 2020 for their paper titled "KDAP: An open Source Toolkit to Accelerate Knowledge Building Research".

  10. PhD scholars selected for the prestigious TCS Research Scholar Program. Vidushi Agarwal (Guide: Dr. Sujata Pal) , Armaan Garg (Guide: Dr. Shashi Shekar Jha).

  11. IIT Ropar Proud Moment - Dr. Nitin Auluck, Asso. Prof. Dept of CSE have been selected to serve as an Editor of a reputed journal Concurrency and Computation: Practice and Experience.

  12. The 7th International Conference on Algorithms and Discrete Applied Mathematics (CALDAM 2021) will be held at the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Ropar from February 11-13, 2021. The conference webpage is at

  13. BTech students Sakshay Mahna and Subham Sahu selected for the prestigious Google Summer of Code, June-August 2020

  14. Dr. Nitin Auluck receives a grant from the Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF), UKRI, UK

  15. Dr Puneet Goyal receives a grant from CSRI to work on computational methods to provide cognitive support for better learning for the visually impaired.

  16. Dr. Shirshendu das receives grant from SERB DST to work on EDRAMs.

  17. The International Conference on Algorithms and Discrete Applied Mathematics (CALDAM) 2021 will be organized at IIT Ropar next year. Dr. Apurva Mudgal and Dr. Subramanian (IMSc Chennai) will be the PC Co-chairs.

  18. Dr Sudeepta Mishra joins the department as an Assistant Professor, Feb 2020.

  19. Jainam Shah (BTech CSE) selected for a scholarship by the Cloud Native Computing Foundation to attend KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2020.

  20. Dr Somitra Sanadhya receives the grant in the MATRICS scheme of DST, SERB, Jan 2020.

  21. Dr T V Kalyan receives the prestigious SERB Early Career Research grant (now called as SRG grant), Dec 2019.

  22. Dr Ram Subramanian's work on emotional effect of video advertisements highlighted by the Times of India , Jan 21, 2020.

  23. Jainam Shah (BTech CSE) would be presenting a talk titled "Hospital—Automated Runbook for Failures in System" at the prestigious LISA 2019 conference organized by the USENIX Association.

  24.  Dr Ram Subramanian receives 2019 best paper award from IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing. Award ceremony held at 8th Intl Conf on Affective Computing & Intelligent Interaction (ACII 2019).

  25.  Dr Somitra Sanadhya has been nominated to the Expert Committee as well as the Jury committee to evaluate the Grand Challenge Initiative for startups related to cyber security by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, GOI.

  26.  Ritu Kapur receives Microsoft Research Travel Grant Award for presenting her work at ICSE/ICSSP 2019.

  27.  Dr. Balwinder Sodhi receives the Distinguished Referee Award from Software: Practice and Experience (SPE). SPE is one of the oldest -- almost 50 years -- journals in the field.

  28.  Heartfelt congratulations to our college team "ATeamHasNoName" for wining the Grand Finale of Smart India Hackathon 2019.

  29.  Congratulations to Ms. Navroop and her supervisor Dr. Sujata Pal for the SERB National Post-Doctoral Fellowship.